First Week of Binoculars and Birds

Sarah out on the morning bird rounds

Sarah out on the morning bird rounds

Finding a Marbled Coronet in the moth trap

Finding a Marbled Coronet in the moth trap

Hi, I’m Sarah, one of the long-term volunteers for this year. This is my first time living on an island, but I’ve been here a week now and I’m starting to get the hang of island life and really enjoying it! The island is a great place for a beginner like me to improve their bird knowledge – not just about seabirds, but also all the migrants that have been passing through. Each day starts with a walk around the island looking for migrants, so I’ve been trying to learn the difference between the various warblers and thrushes and have seen my first wryneck, pied flycatcher and long-eared owl. You soon realise how different the bird community is from the mainland – it’s normal to be surrounded by hundreds of guillemots and puffins, but the arrival of a bullfinch is a rare and exciting event! As well as looking for birds, I’ve been doing some practical things like helping build tern platforms and painting the tern hides (which will be a second home for me once the tern monitoring starts) and meeting the visitors off the boats. It’s been great living in an isolated place with a small community of people, and I’m looking forward to the next 9 weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.